By SubcontractorHub Editorial Team·Published October 2026

Quick Answer
PFAS in well water is a lab line in parts per trillion. EPA's April 10, 2024 public rule set a 4.0 ppt MCL for PFOA and for PFOS. A private well is not that public system. See the 2024 table, then read the May 18, 2026 proposals before you treat every row as settled.
PFAS in well water reaches a dealer as a certificate, not as a softener setting. The two public columns, a goal and a standard, are explained in MCL and MCLG. The unit move, when the lab prints nanograms or micrograms, is parts per trillion in drinking water. This page does not restate a removal percentage and does not name an installed price.
EPA's PFAS page says that on April 10, 2024 the agency announced a final national primary drinking water regulation for six PFAS. The same page says the materials there are specific to that 2024 rulemaking and are provided for reference. The enforceable levels are maximum contaminant levels. The goals are maximum contaminant level goals, which the page calls health-based and non-enforceable.
Compliance with those MCLs, the page says, is determined by running annual averages at the sampling point. That sentence is about public water systems. It is not a private-well sampling plan.
| Compound on the 2024 table | MCLG | MCL |
|---|---|---|
| PFOA | Zero | 4.0 ppt (also ng/L) |
| PFOS | Zero | 4.0 ppt |
| PFHxS | 10 ppt | 10 ppt |
| PFNA | 10 ppt | 10 ppt |
| HFPO-DA (GenX) | 10 ppt | 10 ppt |
| Mixture of two or more of PFHxS, PFNA, HFPO-DA, and PFBS | Hazard Index 1 | Hazard Index 1 |
The page says the PFOA MCL of 4.0 parts per trillion is also expressed as ng/L. The other individual MCLs on that table are printed as ppt. The mixture row is a unitless hazard index of 1, for mixtures containing at least two of PFHxS, PFNA, HFPO-DA, and PFBS. This page does not calculate a hazard index.
The same EPA page, fetched October 15, 2026, says that on May 18, 2026 EPA announced two proposed rules for public comment. It says those actions deliver on a path forward announced on May 14, 2025. One proposed rule upholds the regulation for PFOA and PFOS and would give drinking water systems an option to request two additional years, to 2031, to comply with the enforceable limits. The other proposed rule would rescind the drinking water regulations for PFHxS, PFNA, HFPO-DA, and the hazard-index mixture of those three plus PFBS.
Read that as a proposal sitting on top of a 2024 table the site still prints. Do not tell a household that the four-chemical rows have already disappeared, and do not tell them the 2031 date is already the compliance date. The page describes proposals and public comment. A dealer's job ticket should name the date of the sheet and the date you read the EPA page.
The fetched page says public water systems must monitor for these PFAS and have three years to complete initial monitoring, by 2027, followed by ongoing compliance monitoring. It says they must also provide the public with information on the levels beginning in 2027. It says public water systems have five years, by 2029, to implement solutions that reduce these PFAS if monitoring shows levels above the MCLs. Beginning in 2029, a system that violates an MCL must take action to reduce the levels and must notify the public.
Those years are the 2024 rule text on the page. The May 2026 proposal about an optional extension to 2031 is a different sentence, and it is aimed at PFOA and PFOS compliance for systems, not at a private well. Keep the two clocks apart on the quote.
Virginia's private-well PFAS page says the MCLs do not apply to private wells, and that they are commonly used as a basis to understand private well water quality. It also says the quality of drinking water from private domestic wells is not regulated by the federal government under the Safe Drinking Water Act, nor by most state governments. Testing, the page says, is solely at the discretion of the well owner. Virginia says it does not sample private wells for PFAS and does not have authority to require others to do ongoing private-well sampling.
EPA's PFAS page says the agency announced $1 billion through the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act to help states and territories implement PFAS testing and treatment at public water systems and to help owners of private wells address PFAS contamination. That is a funding sentence. It is not a private-well MCL.
The broader split between public standards and a single-home well is private well water regulations. Primary versus secondary tables, which are a different pair of lists, are primary and secondary drinking water standards. PFAS on the 2024 table are primary-rule numbers, not secondary taste numbers.
Virginia describes PFAS as human-made chemicals used in coatings, packaging, cookware, carpets, clothing, and firefighting foams, and it names PFOA, PFOS, GenX chemicals, and PFBS in that introduction. It says contamination of a private well is often localized, for example near an airfield where the foams were used or a facility where the chemicals were produced. It says it does not specify a distance that represents a threat, because geology, well depth, and the release vary.
On exposure, the page says only a small amount of PFAS can get into the body through skin, and that bathing or showering is not likely to be a primary route for PFOA, PFOS, GenX chemicals, or PFBS. It says the chemicals cannot be removed by heating or boiling. It recommends testing especially near a known source, and it names EPA methods 537, 537.1, or 533 as the drinking-water methods commercial labs use. It says the lab provides the bottle. It says not to fill a household jar.
The same page lists CDC minimal risk levels beside the EPA MCLs, including adult and child figures, and it says Virginia has no enforcement authority to require comparison to the MCLs. Those CDC figures are screening levels on that page. They are not a second MCL. This article does not copy them into a pass-fail box. If a customer asks, open the state page and show both columns with their names attached.
EPA's PFAS page links fact sheets titled “Reducing PFAS in Your Drinking Water with a Home Filter” and “Treatment Options for Removing PFAS in Drinking Water.” Those files were not copied here, so this page does not state a removal percentage, a filter life, or a certified model. A listing, when you use one, is the model's own certificate.
A cation softener is not described on the fetched EPA table as the PFAS control. Do not move a hardness conversation onto this result. The visit still needs the raw number, the unit, the sample point, and whether treatment was already in the house. How to order a broader panel is the well water testing guide. The dealer record for that visit can sit with the rest of the job on water treatment contractor software.
The April 10, 2024 rule on EPA's PFAS page sets public-water MCLs. Virginia's health department says those MCLs do not apply to private wells, and that a single-home well is outside the Safe Drinking Water Act. Use the numbers as labels on the lab sheet, not as a county fine this page can name.
On the EPA table, 4.0 parts per trillion is also expressed as ng/L. Virginia's lab note says ppt is notated as ng/L. If the sheet says micrograms per liter, that is a different unit. The parts-per-trillion page is the place for that move.
Virginia's page says these chemicals cannot be removed by heating or boiling water. This page does not add a removal percentage for any device.
Virginia says it does not have a program to sample private wells for PFAS, and that testing is the owner's decision. Ask the state where the well actually is. This page does not name a test fee.
EPA's page says that on May 18, 2026 the agency announced two proposed rules for public comment. One would keep PFOA and PFOS and offer systems an option to comply by 2031. One would rescind the rules for PFHxS, PFNA, HFPO-DA, and the hazard-index mixture. The page still prints the 2024 table for reference. A proposal is not described there as a finished replacement.
See the public table, the proposal status, and the private-well limit as three notes. Book a demo and keep the lab on the job.
Book a DemoSubcontractorHub
AI proposals, sales pipeline, and project management — all in one platform.
30 minutes. No commitment.